Tezuka In English
Category: Manga

Tezuka’s Manga Works



Osamu Tezuka and his manga

Osamu Tezuka is credited with creating more than 400 individual manga series, the great majority of which have not been translated into English.  As such information, at least in English, on many of the series is scare and what little there is can often be confusing.  For example, English readers who don’t know about Princess Knight [Shojo Club] (1953-56), struggle to understand how, given its drastically different art style, The Twin Knights (1958) can be the sequel since they will be most familiar with Princess Knight [Nakayoshi] (1963-66).  They also may not realize that the first chapter, ‘Dawn’ of Phoenix (1967-88) is, in fact, based on the earlier and incomplete work, Phoenix [Manga Shonen] (1954-55).

In this section, you will find an ever-growing source of information on Tezuka’s manga works.  Each page will attempt to give you basic publication information, a short synopsis of the story as well as some interesting, often behind the scenes, or analytical, bits of information that every Tezuka fan should know.

Please keep in mind, this is not a full list of Tezuka’s manga (at least not yet).  If you want to see the BIG list, please check out our About Tezuka’s Manga section.

If you are looking for Tezuka’s works that have been translated into English and/or many other languages, we suggest you visit our Translation section.